Paleo Ice Cream

Published November 7, 2013 by coachkatriel
Ice Cream Maker!

Ice Cream Maker!

So, as I’m approaching the end of the Paleo challenge, I’ve been thinking about how I’m going to continue going forward. I’ve decided I’m definitely not going to be as strict Paleo, but I am going to stay about 80% paleo each week with about 15% of the things I eat being still what I consider healthy but not quite paleo, and then limiting myself to one cheat meal a week.

One of the things that I like to indulge in every once in awhile is ice cream, and even the almond milk or coconut milk ice cream at the grocery store has soy in it as well as other weird stuff that is technically not Paleo. I figured if I can make my own ice cream with Paleo ingredients-every once in awhile, NOT every single day-it’d help me with my sweet tooth and help me to avoid some of the bad stuff more easily.

I’ve done a lot of searching on The Google to find out different options for Paleo Ice Cream. The simplest one that I found had only 4 ingredients: Full fat coconut milk, unsweetened cocoa, ripe bananas, and raw maple syrup. I can’t remember where I found that one, so I can’t link it for you. I added some crushed walnuts to mine when there were only a few minutes left to go. As I was stacking up all the ingredients, the hubby commented that there would be just as many calories if not MORE in the paleo ice cream than in a store bought ice cream. I argued back that yes, it probably would, but it would have more nutritive value with the healthy fats and the vitamins. I didn’t measure anything so the bananas and the maple flavor dominated the chocolate flavor, so it didn’t really taste like chocolate ice cream. It was still pretty tasty and the texture was awesome. We ate all of it as soon as it was done and absolutely loved it. If I remember where I found that one, I’ll definitely link it to you.

Have you ever made your own ice cream before? What ingredients would you say are key to getting the texture and consistency of homemade ice cream?

Leave a Reply

