Paleo Days Thirty Eight-Forty Four: The Epic Paleo Faileo

Published October 29, 2013 by coachkatriel

This past weekend was my brother’s wedding. The wedding took place in Washington D.C. The ceremony went fabulously-the bride was beautiful, my brother was handsome, and everyone looks perfect in the pictures (that I’ve seen so far). There of course were hiccups along the way, as there are with all weddings, but everything seemed to go smoothly and I think it was a wonderful experience for the two of them.

My adventure started on Thursday, when I took off of work early to pick up my sister (who lives an hour and a half south of me). I got my last workout in before the trip, and then went home to clean and pack. I fed my husband and sister pizza because it was quick and easy, and after cleaning our apartment and washing about four days worth of dishes, I had no desire to pull out and dirty anything else, but I stuck with a simple salad. I packed myself some paleo snacks to take on the plane (meat, carrots, and nuts) and packed for my husband some fruit snacks and cheese sticks.

Friday morning we woke up at 4:45am. I ate a peach and some nuts and drank some water before we left, and then we drove an hour north to the airport. We didn’t have much time to wait before we boarded, and the first flight was only an hour so I didn’t get too hungry. Our layover was pretty long, and we had some concerns about the meat spoiling, so I quickly devoured all the packed snacks (With the help of my husband and siblings). My husband convinced me to have a free meal at the airport so i would have something a little more solid in my stomach so I wouldn’t get grumpy. We stopped at the Quiznos in the airport and I had the steak and egg breakfast flatbread.

The flight to D.C. was about 3 hours long, and I just drank water on the plane. When we got to D.C, we drove around town a little bit, and then went to my sister-in-law’s parent’s house, where my mom had left some vegetables and diced turkey for me so I could stay on track. Late that night, my sister-in-law’s mother had made us some Papusas and they smelled really good and I didn’t want to be rude, so I had three.

Saturday morning, we woke up at about 8:00am. I had a cold, burnt papusa for breakfast because I didn’t want to make any dishes or dig through someone else’s fridge. Sometime Saturday morning, it became apparent that my husband was incredibly sick. His stomach was topsy turvy, and he couldn’t move or get out of bed without tossing his cookies. I was worried about him and not particularly hungry, so only munched on tomatoes and nuts during the day. He made it through the ring ceremony, but we ended up heading home before the dinner in the evening. It was a little bit – okay, a lot – stressful because we were in a strange city with out a means of transportation (All the people with cars were at the wedding festivities) and with limited supplies. The things my husband was asking for, as well as the things that were recommended for him, were completely out of reach for the entire evening and I felt pretty helpless to do anything. And I was hungry, so I munched on some granola bars.

Saturday night was pretty miserable and we didn’t get much sleep, so when we woke up at 6:00 Sunday morning to catch the metro to the airport, we were very groggy. I grabbed a couple rolls to eat for breakfast and bought pretzels and a banana for my husband at the airport to see if he could keep anything down and give him a little bit of fuel so he wouldn’t be so much of a walking zombie. When we got to the airport in Denver, he was starting to feel hungry, so I stopped to get him a toasted bagel and a gatorade-again, just simple stuff for his tummy to handle. I didn’t want to let my blood sugar get low, so I got myself a egg and bacon grilled cheese sandwich -cause it was high protein and cheaper than a healthier meal in the airport.

We we touched down at our airport, we drove straight home so my honey could get some rest in his bed. I did a load of laundry, took a shower, and then grabbed my little sister to take her back to her apartment. Feeling extremely sleep deprived, I stopped at the gas station and got myself a diet dr pepper with a vanilla shot (Best invention ever) so I wouldn’t fall asleep on the drive.

The husband woke up after I’d been gone for about an hour and a half and said he felt hungry, and that he wanted bagels and soup. So on my way home, I stopped at the grocery store and picked up bagels and cream cheese and soup and crackers, which I then shared with him because we didn’t really have that much food in our house at all.

Sunday night we slept from 8-8, and while he was feeling a little bit better, I was concerned about him and stayed home from work to look after him. I ended up eating about 8 popsicles, 2 bagels, and half a sleeve of saltines throughout the day, in addition to eating through my entire crockpot worth of food. I also was stuck at a new student orientation for 3 hours Monday night so missed out on my workout.

I think the part that bums me out the most is that while I had lots of “cheats” that I had to log in for the Paleo Challenge, I didn’t have anything particularly delicious, except for the diet soda with the vanilla shot, and nothing that was really worth it. I ate the things I shouldn’t have because I was feeling tired and I was ill prepared.

So what would I have done differently?

You know, I’m not sure. I’m reminded very harshly today that when I eat things that aren’t good for me, I feel sluggish and uncomfortable and a little bit grumpy. I also know that there are going to be some things that are out of my control that I can’t really plan for, but that circumstances like that are few and far between. I’m so grateful that I was able to be there for my brother’s wedding and to be able to be a part of some of the festivities. I’m grateful for the adventure we had, and I’m happy for them to be at the beginning of the rest of forever together.

I realize that if my focus is just on being skinny, then this week would be a guilt/panic fest. But since my focus is on being healthy, getting back on track is as simple as saying no the next time and picking the healthy options again. Recommit, refocus, and act accordingly.

What’s been your worst paleo faileo experience?

Leave a Reply

