Paleo Day Thirty Two: Disconnecting

Published October 17, 2013 by coachkatriel

I know the title of this article is a little silly, given I’m sitting at a computer right now.

I’m admitting to be a social media addict.

For a long time, I had twitter, instagram, facebook, and pinterest all on my phone. And I’d spend hours of my free time clicking from one to the next to see what updates there were. I’d sometimes even wake up in the middle of the night to use the restroom and stay awake a couple extra minutes to check through all of those things again to make sure I wasn’t missing out on anything.

Then my phone stopped accepting a charge. And slowly died away. So I lost all my apps. When I got my new phone, I wasted no time getting instagram and facebook, but since I have 4+ different e-mail addresses, I wasn’t sure which one I’d used for the twitter and pinterest and didn’t load those again.

Recently, as I’ve been drinking more water during and after my evening workouts, I’ve had to wake up in the night more regularly (Sorry for the TMI) and I never fall back asleep without facebooking or instagramming. It’s the first thing I do every morning and the last thing I do every night before I go to sleep.

I love blog surfing, and found one today where the lady mentioned she’d deleted all the social media applications on her phone. She described an addiction very similar to mine and mentioned it had been a difficult transition at first, but is grateful for the choice she made. So I took a deep breath and deleted facebook and instagram and email from my phone.

I know deleting and uninstalling social media apps is unrelated to paleo, nutrition, and exercise. At the same time, I know I’ve wasted a lot of my time being on social media that I could have spent actually being social. I get way more out of having actual conversations with family members and friends and coworkers than I EVER do looking at internet memes.

I’m not saying that I’m never going to get on social media again. I’ll probably pull up facebook on the computer every once in awhile to check in. But I wanted to take the convenience out of it so I could move past that addiction.

A conversation I have with people all the time is how ultimately our health comes to balance-balancing your nutrition, your exercise, your lifestyle-and that balance is what helps you to feel the best. I love that one of my official job titles is “Wellness Coach” because overall physical, spiritual, mental and emotional wellness is what I am striving for myself and what I feel passionate about talking about with other people as well. So will this decision to disconnect from social media give me faster pull ups or a smaller waistline? Maybe not directly. But it will help me to achieve a better balance for myself which will ultimately help me be a healthier person. And I know when I’m not constantly checking social media apps, I can be more “present” which will help me be a better coach and a better friend.

What small step do you feel you need to take to help you to achieve a little more balance in your life?

Leave a Reply

