Paleo Days Twenty-Five through Thirty-One: The CrockPot

Published October 16, 2013 by coachkatriel

I love the CrockPot. Slow cooking was the best invention ever. And the easiest thing ever as well.

The past couple nights, I’ve been throwing chicken (frozen breasts, raw breasts, or raw thighs) in the crockpot with some sort of salsa (with paleo ingredients) and some raw or frozen vegetables and whatever spices I want right before I go to bed. And then Seth inevitably gets up at some point in the night to close our bedroom door so he won’t wake up smelling like food. But then I have a small bowl of incredibly tender chicken with veggies and flavors and a small handful of almonds and a piece of fruit for breakfast. Which is WAAAAAY more satisfying than just an apple with some almond butter. And then I pack some for lunch, eat some as a snack before I go to the gym, and then finish it up after my workout. So I eat the same exact thing pretty much 4 meals a day for the past several days this week. I’m not complaining. I’m still taking my multivitamin, and I’ll switch it up with something else next week. But so far, this is going grand for me-even though it bugs my hubby a little bit that the house constantly smells like cooked food now. I wish I’d started doing this when I very first started being paleo because it’s made meal prep so much easier. Throw stuff in crockpot, eat stuff out of crockpot, wash crockpot, repeat.

Also, I got in my four metcons last week! They were tough and I didn’t move very fast, but I was proud of myself for doing them. My favorite was Saturday’s workout, which was 3 rounds for max reps with 1 minute at each of 5 stations, 1 minute rest between rounds. It was the same workout that was being done in different boxes around the world for a “Crush Cancer”¬†fundraiser event. One of the things I like about the CrossFit community is being able to do similar workouts across the world because it helps me feel like I am part of something bigger than just me.

What are your favorite crockpot recipes?

Leave a Reply

