Paleo Day Sixteen: Favorite Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Published October 1, 2013 by coachkatriel

Last night, my honey requested broccoli, sweet potatoes, and chicken for dinner.

I took 2 sweet potatoes (one was large, one was medium-small) and sliced them into little matchsticks. I’m no professional sweet potato slicer so they were all different sizes, but close enough. I drenched them in olive oil, and seasoned them with red pepper, paprika, and morten’s seasoning and threw them in the oven.

I made almost three pounds of chicken thighs (oven roasted…I’m boring) with some Montreal Chicken seasoning so I could have some left over for lunch.

And then I steamed some broccoli until it was bright green. I left mine on the stovetop too long and it was like soggy and melty in my mouth. But I love broccoli so I ate it all. I ate about two cups myself and then made another two cups for Seth-not sure how his ended up cause I forgot to ask.

We decided last night that to keep things simple, I’m just going to make one dinner instead of making two separate meals and he can add extra things to his to help increase his calories. So he’s being a little bit more Paleo with me which is nice.

The leftover sweet potatoes got my sister-in-laws stamp of approval today at lunch, which means a lot because she’s got magical kitchen powers.

Sweet potatoes are okay when you’re paleo, but they’re recommended in moderation for those who are trying to lose weight. So I need to branch out a little bit more and try some new things. I got a sweet new cookbook this weekend as a gift and I’m looking forward to writing and sharing next week’s meal plan based on some new recipes!

2 comments on “Paleo Day Sixteen: Favorite Roasted Sweet Potatoes

  • Leave a Reply

