Prayers for Boston

Published April 15, 2013 by coachkatriel

This is a step out of the norm, but these thoughts are weighing heavily on my mind today.

Growing up, I watched my mom train for many marathons. And by watch, I mean she’d wake me up at 4:45 and ask me to crawl in bed next to whichever kid was the baby at that time so she and my dad could go out on a long run before the baby woke up. She’d been working with a coach to help her get faster, help her core get stronger, and to hopefully qualify for the Boston Marathon. In 2011, she was training hard to get her time where it needed to be in order to qualify, and she suffered an injury that made running impossible and exercise improbable.

My mom’s injury has been a big trial in her life. As a mother of 8 difficult children (I can say that because I’m one of them) having an outlet for her emotions, having a stress reliever, and having some “Self-time” was really important for her mental health. When that was taken away from her, she was really shaken up. She’s seen many different physical therapists to try to solve her injury, to try to recover. She’s been through a long and painful and difficult recovery process. It’s taken until just recently for her to start seeing some progress and be able to start running again.

Today, as I watched the news of the bombs at the Boston Marathon, my heart hurt to think of the hatred and cruelty there are in this world. I don’t understand why this would happen.

I also today am feeling grateful. Had my mom been able to train the way she’d planned to, had her training not been disrupted by a frustrating, debilitating injury, she likely would have been one of the runners in Boston today. When we’d talked before about her hopes to go to Boston,we’d talked about making a girls’ trip out of it, meaning I could have been one of the spectators at the finish line today. I’m grateful that my mom, while on the mend, was not able to run in Boston today.

My heart and prayers go out to those who did suffer a loss or an injury, or who are still waiting to hear from their loved ones today.

Every so often, we get our mortality shoved in our faces and we get reminded that there are no guarantees for tomorrow. I hope today we all hug our loved ones a little tighter and express our gratitude and love for them.

I know emotions are running very high right now, some calling for peace, some calling for war. I hope that was we seek change in the world, we first think of the changes we need to make in ourselves.

“As human beings, our greatness lies not so much in being able to remake the world – that is the myth of the atomic age – as in being able to remake ourselves.” – Mahatma Gandhi

Leave a Reply

