Mental Perspective

Published January 24, 2013 by coachkatriel

Hello All!

First off, I wanted to apologize for being gone for so long. I’ve got some pretty good excuses though.

I’ve been accepted to be a volunteer CrossFit Media Writer for the CrossFit South West region. So in my spare time, I’m researching all the latest in the CrossFit world and brainstorming angles. I’ve been assigned to, written, and submitted one article and I’m eagerly and anxiously awaiting my next assignment. I’m really hoping The Editors like what I wrote because I got to interview two really cool guys that are super awesome athletes and I did my best to capture their personalities and enthusiasm in the piece I wrote. Still waiting for some feedback, but I’m staying positive.

I’ve also been working on my NSCA certification. I’ve set a goal of reading and taking notes on two chapters a week. I have lots of time to do this, cause my sweetheart has a lot of studying this semester. I’ve been trying to be a better housewife and make sure he has food to eat and I’ve been washing my dishes more and trying to keep up on the laundry so my honey can focus on studying.

In addition, we’ve been preparing for a local competition called WODsomniac. It’s a CrossFit competition that you enter as teams. There are eight total workouts that are scheduled over a 24 hour period. I know it’s going to be a serious physical and mental challenge but I’m excited for it. At the beginning of the week, I was feeling nervous/excited. I’ve come to the conclusion though that I’m not going to walk into the competition already beating myself down in my head.

We draw this triangle sometimes at the gym, and we call it the hierarchy of fitness. We will frequently add Mental Perspective below Nutrition as the true base of fitness.

hierarchy of fitness

MENTAL PERSPECTIVE

Each piece of that pyramid is important, but the most important piece (in my opinion) is that mental perspective. Have you ever walked into the gym feeling tired or stressed? Or approached a barbell already thinking that the weight is heavier than you can lift? Our mental game really does effect how we’re able to perform.

So this week as you’re working out, I want you to focus your mental perspective. Give yourself permission to succeed by telling yourself that it is absolutely possible. Talk yourself up instead of putting yourself down. Build up your mental perspective.

One comment on “Mental Perspective

  • Leave a Reply

