Check yourself

Published December 5, 2012 by coachkatriel

I got a deadlift PR yesterday. I could have pulled more, but I knew I would have had to sacrifice form. It’s been nice today to know that I got a PR, but to be able to walk comfortably and not have pain in my back. Check yourself before you wreck yourself, as Coach Seth always says.

It’s been an exciting time of year at Put It Up CrossFit! We’ve got new faces, new PRs and new equipment! Several members of our gym have signed up for a local CrossFit competition in January that promises to be as intense as it is intimidating (8 WODs in 24 hours). We’re excited, nervous, and trying to up our training.

For myself, one of the reasons I wanted to sign up was because I’ve felt like I’ve been stuck in a workout rut lately. I’ve been lacking intensity, lacking motivation, and lacking energy. Each day when I coach people, I remind them that proper nutrition is the way to getting energy, but I’ve been really struggling with that.

I realized that a big problem that I’ve had is my attitude and my perspective. As I was driving home the other day after work, I was thinking about my schedule. I work during the day. I clock out. I go home. I chill out. I work out. I make dinner. Repeat. And I realized that my schedule really isn’t that tough. My husband, on the other hand, wakes up early. Coaches at the gym. Goes to school. Goes back to coaching at the gym. Works out if he can and if there aren’t other things pressing on him. When he’s not at the gym or at school, he’s doing homework or programming workouts or researching things to help him be a better coach or texting people from the gym. My husband never clocks out. He rarely gets to chill out. He sometimes doesn’t get time to eat. He doesn’t always get to work out. And then he repeats. But he always is kind and respectful and patient with the people he coaches. Who am I to complain?

I checked my attitude. Refocused. And had a pretty good day at the gym.

So check yourself. Check your attitude. Check your mental “form” before coming to the gym.

But that’s not the only thing I’d like us to start checking our attitude about.

One of our gym members went to the grocery store rocking a Put It Up CrossFit shirt. A fellow CrossFitter from another box stopped him and asked how he liked it, and told him also that if he wants to go to a real gym, to head to his box instead.

While part of me wants to find that guy and punch him in the face, I understand that feeling. Some of that comes from being so passionate about my box. I believe I’ve got the best box in the world, with the best people, and the best owner, and the best environment. But I also recognize that every CrossFitter would feel the same about their box. Amazing things happen when people WOD together. People who WOD together inspire each other, motivate each other, support each other, push each other and watch each other make big strides and reach big goals. And those things build that intricately connected community that keeps people coming back for more.

My hope is that while we may feel that passion about our box, that we would have enough respect for others in our community to not talk to or about other people that way. In the box, we don’t want to just be improving our health and fitness: we want to improve our character as well. So check your form in the way you speak with and treat others.

Just something more to think about this holiday season!

One comment on “Check yourself

  • Leave a Reply

