Getting on with Happy Ever After

Published October 9, 2012 by coachkatriel

I’ve been married for about three weeks now. And I love it.

I love that my best friend is the last person I see before I fall asleep and the first person I see when I wake up. I also love that when I wake up in the middle of the night from a bad dream, I can snuggle up next to my superhero husband and feel calm and safe again. I do risk sometimes getting elbowed in the face if I hug him very tightly from behind late at night when he doesn’t know or remember that I’m right next to him. But that’s gotten better too.

Before we got married, we promised each other that we wouldn’t be a couple that got “soft” shortly after getting married. We like to help people reach their goals and improve their health. We also prioritize our own health and fitness because we both feel healthier, stronger, happier when we’re getting in good workouts. And we have to have good quality fuel to get our workouts the way we want them to be.

The week before and the week after we got married, I had a really hard time motivating myself to exercise. There was a lot of stress leading up to the wedding and I replaced my scheduled gym time for things like nail or hair appointments or spontaneous but completely necessary shopping trips. After the wedding, I just felt tired. My focus had been on the wedding day for so long that I stumbled a little bit getting back into my routine of life after wedding. Thankfully, I talk to one of my fellow coaches each week and she helped me refocus and get back on target. Every Sunday, my sweet husband and I talk through our goals for the week and that’s helped me remember the “why”. For a long time, my “why” for eating right and exercising was too lose weight, but I realized that isn’t really a sustainable goal. He and I talked about focusing less on body composition goals, but more on performance goals. Luckily, we CrossFit, so setting and working towards performance goals in several different training modes will lead to an improved body composition. Remembering those performance goals motivates me to eat well because I know if I binge eat, my gymnastics goals will be unnecessarily difficult. I also know that if I don’t give my body enough fuel, I won’t be able to reach my strength goals. And I know how I feel when I do my conditioning work compared to when I don’t. Focusing on performance and on the way I feel helps me stay consistent and excited about the work I do in and out of the box. Setting monthly, weekly, and daily goals helps me feel accomplished. Even when I don’t feel motivated to do something in the moment, I know that if I accomplish my goals, I’ll have that sense of pride and accomplishment.

I know that’s a lot of blabber, so I thought I’d condense my point in a short list.

1. Set an unbreakable appointment with yourself to do your exercise. Don’t schedule things that would interfere with that unbreakable appointment.

2. Set goals. If you’re getting frustrated or stuck with weight loss, set a good variety of performance goals.  You’ll find that as you continue to set quality performance goals, your body composition will improve as well.

3. Talk through your goals with someone with experience in the areas that you’re trying to improve.

4. You won’t always feel motivated. Do it anyway.

Leave a Reply

