Sorry it’s been so long…

Published June 18, 2012 by coachkatriel

Well hi there!

Sorry I’ve failed at posting for a long time.

Few things have been going on. First of all, I’ve finally moved into my new apartment. It’s all mine (for the time being). Which means, for the first time in my entire life, I have complete control of the kitchen. My first night there, I ran to the grocery store and bought a variety of different vegetables and some fruits and lean protein to stock up my fridge. I have loved having complete control of the food that is in my kitchen. I read on facebook the other day that if you want to fit into your bathing suit, you should hang it on your fridge. I haven’t done that yet, but I’ve made sure to include only healthy food in my fridge. But right now my motivation to eat healthy, clean foods isn’t necessarily all about the bathing suit.

My whole life, I’ve been cursed with acne. I’ve tried every face wash under the sun, been medicated, and have probably done more damage than good. I read somewhere that eating whole, natural, clean foods can be beneficial for the skin. So I’ve decided to stop blaming genetics and feeling down on myself. I’m going Paleo and hoping to see some positive changes in my skin condition.

I’m a lucky girl, because there are a number of people that I help coach at the gym that are already Paleo eaters and have some great recipes (here’s looking to you, Jamie!) and I’ve talked to my sweetheart about supporting me in my endeavors.

The paleo diet consists mainly of fish, meat, vegetables, fruit, fungi, roots, and nuts, and excludes grains, legumes, dairy products, salt, refined sugar, and processed oils. I’m going to focus on eating every 4 hours so my blood sugar doesn’t drop (cause that’s bad news for the people around me). I’m optimistic about what this will do for my health. I also know that in order to see any progress I’m going to have to stick with it, which is why I’ve asked for support from the people around me. Thanks in advance for the support, everyone!

One comment on “Sorry it’s been so long…

  • Leave a Reply

