SWITCH

Published April 19, 2012 by coachkatriel

I’m one of the luckiest people in the world. My fulltime day job is being a coach. When there is no one there to coach, my job is to do things that will make me a better coach. I’ve been kind of obsessed with change psychology as of late and so I went and bought several books about it. Today, I finished reading the book called Switch by Chip and Dan Heath. I might be overtired, and therefore a little dramatic right now, but it is absolutely the best book I have ever read and I’m so overwhelmingly happy that I did read it, and at the same time so hungry to read more books like it. At the end of the book was a list of other books that the Heath brothers recommended, and I’m going to find and read them all in my spare time. It was a great read. Everything from the transitions, tone, word choice, examples, analogies…just wonderful. Seriously. If you’re trying to make a change in your life or motivate others to make changes, you HAVE to read this book. And then we can talk about elephants and paths and bright spots. I’d lend you my copy, but it’s got blue highlighter all over it and my notes in the margins and I’ll be rereading it again soon. Likely you’ll like it too, so you’ll need to get your own copy to be read over and over and loved and cherished forever. Every time I had to leave the book and go on to another activity, I’d be thinking about the concepts discussed in the book and trying to figure out how to realistically apply these ideas into my life. I felt so motivated and so empowered and I was always definitely in a better mood on the days that I read this book than on days when I chose to read other books.

Okay. Gonna start another one.

Leave a Reply

