It’s 10:30 and I’m Hungry

Published April 9, 2012 by coachkatriel

Last week, I wrote a nutrition plan and stuck to it rigidly throughout the week. I told myself that I would eat protein every 3-4 hours. I tried to include a variety of different vegetables, I timed my meals so I’d have something about an hour before my workout and I made sure to drink tons of water.

The first couple days went pretty well. I was still really full from the weekend so I didn’t really notice that I was eating less than normal. By Wednesday, however, I was hungry. I’m a bit of an extremist so if I say I’m going low carb and eating just vegetables for carbohydrate, that’s exactly what’s going to happen. I totaled up my macros and I’d had 187g of protein, 53g of fat, and 58g of carbs. Since I eat roughly the same thing every day, that’s where I was sitting pretty consistently. I was staying in the calorie range that I wanted to be, but did some reanalyzing and decided I could keep the fat roughly the same, decrease the protein to about 160g of protein (I try to get about 1g of protein for every pound of bodyweight) and increase my carbs to about 85g to still stay in that calorie zone. Wednesday night I bought some low carb, high fiber, high protein bread and toasted a slice, and ate it with some cottage cheese on top and it was probably the most delicious thing I’ve ever tasted. My mood instantly improved (I get grumpy when I’m hungry and low on carbohydrate…sorry guys) and I started altering my nutrition plan a little.

Like Coach/Gym Boss Seth is always saying, first concern is calories in, calories out. The amount of calories your body needs every day depends on things like age, gender, weight, lean body mass,  activity level, lifestyle….My recommendation with this is to talk to someone who can help analyze the things you’re doing cause there’s no “one size fits all” for calorie ranges. I got with Seth and figured out roughly how many calories I’d need to maintain my current weight, and then decided how much of a calorie deficit I’d need in order to reach my goals. Calories in, calories out is the big number one. If you’re taking in more calories than your body will use, then you’ll put on weight. If you’re taking in fewer calories than your body will use, then you’ll lose weight.

Next, you’ve got to determine what your goal is. I want to maintain/slightly increase my strength and be able to do a muscle-up. I also want to be able to earn my prescriber shirt, which, as my Put It Up CrossFit people have learned, means I’ve got to get better at gymnastics. (I’ve already preordered my shirt, but until my gymnastics total (max consecutive HSPU, pull-ups, pistols) totals 30, I can’t wear it). I also want to stay lean, as I talked about a little a couple weeks ago. Analyzing your goals will help you determine your macros. Again, talking to someone with experience with this can help you tailor things specifically to your goals. For me, I’m trying to get leaner but stay strong. In order to do this, I’m making sure that I have a gram of protein for every pound of body weight in order to support my lean muscle mass. I’ll eat lots of fibrous vegetables with every meal, and have some more carbohydrate around my workouts for energy. And as I learned last week, having a slice of toast (again, fibrous and with protein) helps me feel more full and be more positive during the day, which is important since my job requires me to spend a lot of time talking to people. You’ve got to do some trial and error to figure out exactly what works for you. I’ve talked to a couple people at my gym who have gone totally Paleo and it’s working great for them and I’ve talked to others who preferred a modified Paleo. As I’ve studied nutrition and exercise and the human body, I’ve learned that while we’ve got a lot of similarities, every body has a certain uniqueness. Part of that is due to the human body’s ability to adapt to whatever we continue to put it through, be it lifestyle, nutrition, exercise, sleep…

Which brings me to my point today. I’ll be honest. Didn’t stick very rigidly to my plan this weekend (I spent a lot of time outside in the sunshine playing baseball so wasn’t eating every 3 hours. I didn’t measure anything, and I didn’t pay attention to my macros). And it was Easter!!(lame excuse, I’m sorry…but it’s all I’ve got!!) This morning, I ate my high fiber, lean protein, healthy fat breakfast and took my vitamins at 7:30 and then headed off to work. At 10:30, my body remembered my “Eat protein every 3 hours” schedule, and reminded me that it was time. Really excited about this.

My body’s learned the new schedule. That means it’s just about time for me to teach it something else…

Leave a Reply

